2nd December 2008

Standard

Hey… I am back in Mumbai and believe me I couldn’t dare to go to CST station to board an andheri as it would have convenient considering the luggage I had… I decided to get down at dadar.. I was amazed at the number of security personnels at dadar station… I thought I might be frisked but no they didn’t ,even though I had a haversack and a travel bag..

May be I didn’t do any suspicious activity so the need to frisk me didn’t arise but the point I am trying to make is have we got back to the chalta hai attitude of the city? If the answer is yes then there’s a problem… continuous watching of TV during and after the terrorist attack I noticed few things… how secure are we from such attacks?… just by installing CCTV’s and metal detectors we think we can catch them? If you noticed, the terrorist started firing before entering the station that is they hardly had crossed the metal detectors… so no question of detecting them, they showed us the possibility of an attack in this manner… the footage I saw showed police, ones who are supposed to protect us, running away after the first round of gun shots… why wasn’t any able to take the guard position?

Had police personnel fired at even at the bag it would have had exploded with the terrorist leaving no room for such massive massacre of innocent lives… I now really doubt about the quality procedures the Mumbai Police follows while recruiting… every year we see young men from far off villages naked being physically tested at the Grant Medical Grounds at Marine Lines… what for? To give us policemen like the ones who did not act and kept hiding near poles doing nothing and watching people being killed? Only one unarmed man Zullu Yadav(mind you Raj Thakrey a Bihari) engaged the terrorist attention… the announcer at the station was a man who asked people to immediately rush out of the station which prevented from more damage… hats off to these guys… and here we are forwarding mails, sms and giving speeches… but what can we actually do is the prime question… and believe me inaction after such a turmoil is the biggest disaster… like the one we saw unfold when both the Chief Minister and his Deputy counterpart resigned and left the state, the city hanging in mid way…

 I felt so ashamed of myself for not having the power to vote… for not doing my bit… but I am not going to sit idle and do the same mistake of forwarding mails and smses… I will give a direction to this angst with my full support and co-operation to the initiative by a daily in Mumbai… I can’t see my city which gives me ultimate joy even if I just walk on its street, cry… yes it does… it tells me to do something for her… so save from the ugly bloodspots on her…

 

Leave a Reply

