Retail Therapy…

Standard

I have a record number of people who can tell you that I suck at shopping. Well not at shopping to be precise but the deciding part.

And I consider it a privilege being a girl that ATLEAST my dad doesn’t mind it a bit. Mum, Sis and friends well u all can go take a hike!!! Eons back I heard “retail therapy” and realised that since the time I was born I have been indulging in it incessantly. 🙂

Even though most of my childhood pocket money was spent at SCC’s chutney sandwich and rasna, i still could manage to save a little and buy self a nice frock for birthdays.

On Diwalis and Dusseras it was a real treat from parents. We would get to buy clothes at Roopam, Sheetal or Craze at Crawford Market. So we never complained even though I always had a shortfall of clothes. My super ballerinas from Dexter at Colaba Causeway was something I always cherished.

Now times have changed and demands have grown. From Cheemo bags now I aspire to have LVs and Guccis. From Dexter I want to move on to Jimmy Choos and Tresmode. Those insatiable-hunger kicks make me go weak in my knees. How much I love my clothes and shoes and bags.. 🙂

But now if you see me I am a very simple, clutter free dresser. Trust me this is the most difficult part of dressing up. First of all you cant chose loud colors, then you have to look for a perfect fit, perfect design, perfect cut, perfect neck, perfect accessories to go with, then the shoes to be matched and finally the bag. So you see, its just not ONLY about buying a dress/ kurti/tee, its about coordination of everything…huh.. I am sure now the Mt Everest expedition looks much simpler 😉

So it begins with the need/demand (I know I am a pucca-marketing-mulgi ;)) Then the shopping area is zeroed on. Most of the times it depends on with whom you are shopping so convenience issue is a major deciding factor. Once that is done a survey among friends is carried out as to who’s recently been to the same place. Well not to know if its a good place to shop at BUT to stay away from it, to avoid buying same stuff and looking like a band-party 🙂

Once everythng is finalised, if the confusion stil persists then the “FREE GIFTS/DISCOUNTS/VOUCHERS” decide. As soon as the shopping floor is hit a bag with probable-to-be-bought-clothes is filled. The trial session starts and with the advent in technology you can 3G ur mum n whoever to take their opinions on it.

Trust me a simple dresser has to wake up at 6.30am for a 9am office. 😦

Shoes to be cleaned, bag to be changed, watch to be matched and so much more. Now please don’t frown the next time I am late. 🙂

2 responses »

  1. lol.yes you do suck at shopping,and i am a testimony to it.girl, you take ages buying single pair of denims,earrings and shoes.thank god you aren’t choosy about FOOD,our commom passion.

  2. well doesn’t it pay off when u do oohs n aahs looking at my collection n feeling J over it..hahah..m in an economic crunch cant afford not to wear bought stuff only coz it doesn’t go with my nail enamel.. 😛

Leave a Reply

